Staff & Board

Home/Staff & Board
Staff & Board 2019-02-15T18:19:28+00:00

Bill Walters

Executive Director

As a lifelong resident of East Central Indiana, William (Bill) Walters and his wife Alesia have raised 5 boys currently ranging in age from 28 to 39. Bill has an extensive history of volunteer work serving on two School Building Corporation Boards. Bill’s most cherished positions have included coaching both elementary and middle school basketball and baseball teams and serving as the President of the School Athletic Boosters. In addition to his volunteer work with the school system, Bill has served two terms on the Daleville Town Council, 5 years as vice president and the current president of the town council. In his hometown of Daleville, Bill gained extensive experience in public administration by overseeing and managing the operations of the municipal Street and Garage Departments as well as the police department.  After serving for four years as the Vice President of the ECI Regional Planning District, in 2016 Bill was unanimously selected by his peers to assume the Directorship of the organization. Through participating in the annual ECI lobbying trips to Washington DC, to leading numerous community visioning sessions, Bill has been able to identify and work towards addressing many areas of concern in East Central Indiana. Bill holds certifications as an Indiana Certified Grant Administrator and INDOT ERC Certificate, 2013 Graduate of Ball State University’s Indiana Economic Development Course, IEDC member with completion of Business Retention and Expansion as well as Workforce Development Strategies. As Director of the Planning District, Bill now focuses daily on improving the quality of life for all communities in the ECI Region.

bradbookoutBrad Bookout

Project Manager

As Senior Project Manager for the ECI Regional Planning District, Brad is dedicated to managing and assisting with a multitude of projects in the regional area. Brad has significant experience with private and municipal project development, new construction, repurposing properties, brownfield cleanups, conducting competitive procurements, new business expansion and attraction, developing municipal amenities, contract compliance as well as grant writing and reporting. From 1994 to 2009, Brad co-owned and operated a private land development and homebuilding business in East Central Indiana. Having constructed well over four-hundred homes and having developed over three-hundred homesites, Brad was Certified in 2003 by the National Association of Homebuilders as a Master Homebuilder. Elected twice to the Delaware County Council, Brad served two years as President of the body prior to running as a candidate for US Congress in 2012. As a private consultant, Brad currently serves at the pleasure of the Delaware County Commissioners as Director of the Delaware County Redevelopment Commission and acting County Director of Economic Development and Redevelopment. Brad’s extensive knowledge of special financing and grant writing has helped him to secure over $65 million in grants and special funding for both public and private projects.

Elected Board Officers and Appointed Board Members

The Board
Pictured (from left to right) Front Row: Ralph Frazee, Mayor Randy Geesaman (Portland), Bill Hess, Mike Burton, Milo Miller, Jr., and Don Goetz. Back Row: Rob Walker, Mike Jones, Pam Price, Tim Smith, Brad Bookout, Lisa Dominisse, Jacob Everett, Marvin Surber, Nora Powell, Doug Marshall, Roy Budd, Shane Middlesworth, Harry Pearson, Mary Lueders, Jorge Ortiz, Mayor Larry Leach (Gas City). Photo by Morgan Crouse

2019 Executive Committee

  • President:  Bill Hess
  • Vice President:  Marta Moody
  • Secretary:  James King
  • Treasurer:  Shane Middlesworth
  • Vacant (Blackford County)
  • Vacant (Delaware County)
  • Vacant (Delaware County)
  • Vacant (Grant County)
  • Vacant (Grant County)
  • Vacant (Governor’s Appointment) Ex-officio

2019 Board of Directors

Delaware County Appointed by
James King County Commissioners
Marta Moody County Commissioners
Ryan Ballard County Commissioners
Tom Borchers County Surveyor or Appointee
Withdrawn 2016 Mayor of Muncie
Withdrawn 2016 Mayor of Muncie
Vacant Town of Yorktown
Randy Dunnuck Town of Albany
Bryce Conyers Town of Daleville
Theresa Welsh Town of Eaton
Tanya Hiatt Town of Gaston
Breque Vanhorn Town of Selma


Grant County Appointed by
Mike Burton County Commissioners
Shane Middlesworth County Commissioners
Donald Wimmer County Surveyor or Appointee
Withdrawn 2016 Mayor of Marion
Howard ” Larry” Leach Mayor of Gas City
Vacant Town of Upland
Minerva “Jane” Sickman Town of Fairmount
Bob McNutt Mayor of Jonesboro
Vacant Town of Swayzee
Vacant Town of Sweetser


Blackford County  Appointed by
Bill Hess County Commissioners
Nick Rhodes County Commissioners
John Oxley County Commissioners
Ben Hodgin Mayor of Hartford City
Kathy Bantz Mayor of Montpelier
State of Indiana
Vacant Governor Eric Holcomb


2019 Board Meeting Dates
February 19
May 14
August 13
November 12

Indiana Code 36-7-7

ECI Regional Planning District By-Laws

ECIRPD Board Appointee Qualifications, Duties

2014 Board Meeeting Attendance Records

2013 Board Meeting Attendance Records

2012 Board Meeting Attendance Records

2011 Board Meeting Attendance Records

2010 Board Meeting Attendance Records